Assessment

Assessment FAQ

Expand Assessment Menu [ + ]

Select a Department

Frequently Asked Questions


How did you arrive at the value on my automobile?

Connecticut Assessors, utilize the NADA ( National Automobile Dealers Association) appraisal guide for most automobile valuations. Assessments are 70% of the clean retail value published in the October New England edition.


When and where can I file for Elderly Homeowner Tax Relief Benefits?

Applications for the Elderly Homeowner Tax Relief program can be filed annually between February 1st through May 15th in the Assessor's office.

What requirements must I meet to receive Elderly Homeowner Tax Relief Benefits?

a) must have been sixty-five years of age at the close of the previous calendar year.

b) must have been a resident of the town for at least 6 months and one day of the program
year.

c) must meet certain income requirements established by the State each year.

 

How do I appeal the assessment on my home?

The Board of Assessment Appeals normally meets in March.  To be heard by the Board, an application must be filed in the Assessor's Office between February 1st and February 20th. Meetings normally are held during the month of March.


How do I appeal the assessment on my business?

The Board of Assessment Appeals normally meets in March.  To be heard by the Board, an application must be filed in the Assessor's Office between February 1st and February 20th. Meetings normally are held during the month of March. 

What is a Mill Rate?

In Connecticut, property tax rates are expressed in mills, or thousandths of a dollar. A property tax rate of 74.29 mills (.07429, when expressed in decimal form) results in the payment of $74.29 for each $1,000 of a taxable property's assessed value.

What is the assessment date in Hartford?

The uniform assessment date in the State of Connecticut is October 1st.

 

Who makes up the laws that govern property assessment?

The General Assembly. The laws pertaining to assessment and collection of local property taxes are contained in title 12 of the Connecticut General Statutes.

When is the next revaluation for Hartford scheduled?

October 1, 2016

 

Click to Expand Menu [ + ]

Assessment Contact

Assessment Contact
550 Main Street
Room 108
Hartford, CT 06103
Phone: (860) 757-9630
Fax: (860) 722-6142

Office Hours:
8:15am -4:45pm

HARTFORD CITY HALL ADDRESS: 550 Main Street, Hartford, CT 06103 PHONE: (860)757-9311 HOURS: 8AM - 5PM